Papakura Museum is open six days per week as follows: 10 am - 4:30 pm MON, TUE, THU, FRI
10 am - 6 pm WEDNESDAY
10 am - 3 pm SATURDAY
OUT IN THE STICKS
Rural life in Papakura as it used to be.
Everyday items and images from the past.
Bate's Bullock Team - ploughing McLennan's farm
COMING SOON: February 2015
THIRTEEN SHIPS- 150 years ago, the Waikato Immigration Scheme brought thirteen ship loads of migrants to the port of Auckland between October 1864 and June 1865.
The migrants were, for the most part, settled in the Kirikiri Block (Opaheke, Papakura); Otau (Clevedon); Maketu (Ramarama); Williamson's Clearing (Bombay) and throughout Franklin.
Our exhibit will explore the background to the scheme, its successes and failures, and the individual stories of some of the settlers, whose names, and/or descendants, live on in Papakura today.
For example: Thomas ELLIOTT, and his wife Elizabeth Jane (pictured) journeyed to New Zealand on the 'GANGES' - aka the death ship - which suffered the loss of 56 passengers; 54 of them children. Most of the children were under three years of age as were the Elliotts' two little girls both of whom died. Nine children were born and raised in New Zealand, the Elliotts eventually settling in Tuakau. Their fourth son Joseph Ernest Elliott, better known as Joe, was headmaster of Papakura School from 1917 to 1935; eldest son, the Reverend William John Elliott, served as minister at the Papakura Methodist Church from 1927 to 1930.
AVAILABLE FROM THE MUSEUM:
The Museum has produced a set of four
quality postcards featuring scenes from Papakura's past.
$4.00 per set.
These can be purchased via our
Over the years several well researched and well written books covering the history of Papakura have been published.
Others have focused on churches, schools, sports clubs, and societies and been published in connection with centenaries or other milestones.
Please click here [link coming soon] for details on availability and our current specials.